Full name: 俄罗斯艺术学院辖下圣彼得堡国立列宾绘画、雕塑与建筑学院

Acting rector: Alexei V. Filimonov

Official site: http://www.spbau.ru/

E-mail: office@spbau.ru

Phone: +7 (812) 297-21-45

Address: 8, build.3, lit. А, Khlopina str., St. Petersburg, 194021

Admission help: +7 (812) 247-44-72

Metro station: Ploschad Muzhestva


Alferov Federal State Budgetary Institution of Higher Education and Science Saint Petersburg National Research Academic University of the Russian Academy of Sciences was founded in 1997 originally as the Research and Education Center of the Ioffe Institute to integrate science and education in the field of physics and information technologies. It has the distinction of being the only university in the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), which is composed primarily of national research institutes. Accordingly, the word "Academic" in the university's name stems from the Academy of Sciences, the organization that unites numerous national research institutes in Russia. The St. Petersburg Academic University was founded by Zhores Alferov, director of the Ioffe Institute, vice-president of the RAS Academician and Nobel prize laureate, who served as its rector until his death on March 1, 2019.

Alferov states that the idea of tripartite “composition” of the institute - consisting of the Academy of Sciences for professional scientists, the Academic University for university students, and a Gymnasium for secondary school students - was inspired by a similar underlying philosophy in Peter the Great's founding of the Academy of Science in 1724. The Saint Petersburg Academic University follows this model, cemented by the reorganization in 2009, as an institute uniting national laboratories, university departments, and secondary school in the same campus and overarching organization. The proposed benefit of this model is that secondary school, university and post-graduate students are trained in direct contact with active scientists, and teaching occurs through lectures, seminars, and also in laboratories.

The university consists of five departments:

  • Department of Mathematics and Information Technology;
  • Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures;
  • Department of Physics of Condensed Matter;
  • Department of Theoretical Physics;
  • Department of Foreign Languages.